ChiefsPlanet Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
Nzoner's Game Room>Photoshop Users?
Mennonite 03:20 PM 06-21-2021
Any digital artists here at CP? Professional, or just for fun?

Are you self-taught or did you take some classes? Are there any online tutorials that you would recommend for a newb?
[Reply]
Sorce 03:24 PM 06-21-2021
Originally Posted by Mennonite:

Are you self-taught or did you take some classes? Are there any online tutorials that you would recommend for a newb?
Taught myself PS with online tutorials, can do the same stuff with GIMP.
[Reply]
Mennonite 03:31 PM 06-21-2021
Originally Posted by Sorce:
Taught myself PS with online tutorials, can do the same stuff with GIMP.

I used GIMP for a long time. Mainly to make animated gifs. It's a great (free!) program. I finally made the switch to PS because I noticed that the gifs I made looked noticeably better in PS.

I would love to be able to take full advantage of all the things that Photoshop can do, but it's a little intimidating. You not only need to learn how to use the program, but I think it would be very useful to have some knowledge of art, too. I learned really fast that I had a lot to learn after agreeing to make an avatar for a guy. I spent three fucking hours trying to draw a cartoon eyeball that didn't come out looking like it belonged on Marty Feldman.
[Reply]
BucEyedPea 03:55 PM 06-21-2021

I had some classes in a classroom, but they weren't that good even though I got through what they considered advanced for back then in the mid 90's.

Where I really made my best headway was using Deke McClelland's Photoshop One-on-One but since CS6 he hasn't put those out anymore. They are excellent because I think they explain better than just a tutorial as you work through simple to complex projects. I use Lynda which is now via Linkedin for updates. Deke is on there as he is with other people. He is one of the best but he can get too complicated sometimes.